Glossary of Terms
Roles and Privileges
How to Manage the Roles and Privileges for the Users Module
In this tutorial, I will show you how to configure the Roles and Privileges for the Users Module.
The User Module allows users to register and log in to their accounts. Users benefit from being able to access Private-Radar because this associates content such as their personal agenda, certificates, courses, logbook, and much more with their account.
MANAGE ROLES AND PRIVILEGES: (0:29)
Let me show you how to set this up:
1. First, log in to your account.
2. Go to the Users Module.
3. Click on the Roles button on the top right-hand corner of the page.
4. Select a role from the drop-down list.
5. Go to the Users tab.
6. Here you can select the criteria.
Check off the box "View Users Module".
Allow users with the selected role to see users from all or some bases. This will allow users with the selected role to be able to view other users from certain bases when a user list is displayed throughout the other modules. For example when a drop-down list of users is displayed in the Schedule, Flights, Reports, Mailing, and/or Documents Module. Remember, you can define the main base of a user when adding or editing a user.
Next, you can choose if users with the selected role will have the privilege to view only themselves, view all users or users from a specific group; these criteria will impact the users listed in other modules, such as the Schedule, Flights, Reports, Mailing, and Documents Module. If you check the “View self” box, users with the selected role will only have access to the Me Page, not the Users Module.
You can allow users with the selected role to edit groups.
You can allow users with the selected role to view general user information, this refers to the basic information shown to the right of each user’s picture, which includes the e-mail, phone, birthday, and any special note. You can also allow a role to change the password of all users, but for security reasons, this should be reserved for users with the selected role that is responsible for provisioning and support of user accounts only.
Next, you can check the box to view the Agenda tab. This will display the user's individual schedule/agenda.
If you want users with the selected role to view the Certificates tab, check the box. In addition, you can allow them to add, edit, delete and manage the certificates.
You can allow the users with the selected role to view the Course tab to keep track of their own course progress or the list of users that they are allowed to view. You can also allow users to print the hours’ certificate, validate lessons, which allows them to mark lessons as completed. This is a way to manage students that are coming from other schools or have previously completed some lessons in a course. You can also allow them to edit the course time adjustment and the course status, which means users will be able to set students to “in progress” or “finished” in a course.
Next, you can check the box to “View Signatures tab and allow to sign”, as well as “Allow to sign all”, to sign the flight sessions and class presence sheets at once. In addition, you can allow the users with the selected role to upload their own signature or upload signatures of all users, this option should be reserved for administrative purposes.
Allow users with the selected role to view the Logbook tab. The logbook is automatically updated.
Allow users with the selected role to view the Account tab. For example, for users with a role like "Administrator", you could allow them to have access to the general account, invoices, payments, and subsidies. You can check off the boxes to allow them to make account transfers, send the account statement by email, edit settings, view/add/edit/delete the invoices, add/edit/delete payments, and make credit card payments, as well as add/edit/delete subsidies.
Allow users with the selected role to view the Flight/Duty Times tab. Flight and duty times are automatically updated.
Allow users with the selected role to view the Documents tab, as well as add and delete documents. These are documents related to the user including flight documents that are related to a member of the flight crew, and other documents that can be uploaded from this tab directly.
Allow users with the selected role to view the Solo tab. This tab controls the parameters that define if users with the selected role will only be allowed to reserve solo flights on certain aircraft types, provided that he respects the flying standards defined in Settings. If nothing is selected, users with the selected role will be able to reserve a solo flight on all aircraft.
You can allow users with the selected role to view the Availability tab, as well as to add, edit, and delete availability. The user availability set here will sync with the Schedule Module.
Choose to allow users with the selected role to view the Emails tab. This shows a record of all the emails that have been sent to the user.
Now, you can give the privilege to users with the selected role to view the Rates tab, as well as to add, edit and delete rates. This tab is only applicable to users who have been checked off as an instructor and/or examiner in the user information details under the instruction section.
You can give the privilege to access the Currency tab to view a summary of the minimum number of landings required in the past number of months to be able to perform a solo flight and the minimum number of landings in the past number of months to be able to perform a flight with passengers. Flight currency is automatically updated.
You can give the privilege to view the TSA tab. This allows users with the selected role to keep track of valid TSA travel authorizations and keep this document up-to-date. The TSA (Transportation Security Administration) is an agency of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security that has authority over travel security.
Now, it's important to mention that here is where we can allow users with the selected role to view the live map of flights. This is only possible if you are subscribed to the Aircraft Tracking System and you have our flight tracker installed in the aircraft. By checking off this box, you can authorize users with the selected role to view the live map (live.private-radar.com) and flight tracking information.
You can also allow users with the selected role to add, edit, mass edit, and delete users. Choose which information you will allow to add or edit, such as the photo, user type, status, active/inactive, general information, whether they are an instruction/examiner, address, note, role, bases, and invoicing. These permissions should be reserved for an administrator role.
And finally, you can allow users with the selected role to edit roles and privileges, as we are doing now. Again, this should be reserved for an administrator role only.
MANAGE PRIVILEGES FOR STUDENT ROLE: (7:48)
Let me give you a brief example of how to configure the privileges for the role "Student":
I would allow users with the role student to view the Users Module but limit them to "View self" only. This will give them access to the "Me" page, but not the complete "Users Module".
I would give users with the role student the privilege to view the tabs on the "Me" page but not allow editing and deleting in most places, for example.
Let me show you. Here we have...
View the Agenda.
View and add Certificates.
View the Courses tab, so they can review their course progress.
View the Signatures tab, and allow them to sign and upload their own signature.
View the Logbook.
View their account balance, add payments and make credit card payments, and send the account balance by email.
View the flight time.
View the documents.
View, add, edit, and delete availability.
And view their currency.
MANAGE PRIVILEGES FOR ADMINISTRATOR / HEAD OF TRAINING ROLE: (9:07)
Most of the time, users with the role student will have very limited access other than just viewing. As opposed to an administrator or Head of Training. In this case, I would allow users with an administrator role to view all users and be able to add and edit many items.
ADMINISTRATOR'S VIEW: (9:24)
Let me show you how the Users Module and Me page look from the perspective of users with an administrator role. They have almost full access to the tabs and functionalities. They are also given the privilege to add, edit and delete many items.
Set up the roles and privileges configuration for the Users Module according to the access you want to grant each role.
For more information about the Users Module, please watch the other tutorials.