How to Share Files and Folders

In this tutorial, I will show you how to share files and folders in the Documents Module.


The Documents Module allows you to easily add and share folders and files with your users. 


First check your Profile Settings for the Documents Module to make sure the Documents Module is visible for the particular profile (student, instructor, administrator, etc. ) you want to share documents with. Once the Profile Rights are set up, you can control what files and folders are visible by sharing.


For more information, please watch the tutorial, How to Configure the Profile Rights for the Documents Module.


Let's get started.


SHARE FOLDERS


1. First log in to your account.


2. Go to the Documents Module.


3. To share an entire folder click on the three dots next to the folder and select 'Share'.


4. Select 'Users' or 'Groups'.


5. Now select the user from the drop-down menu, you can add several at a time and click on share.


6. Or you can click the 'Share all' button to share the folder with all the users who have the profile right to view documents.


7. Alternatively, you can click on the 'Unshare all' button to unshare the folder with all the users.


Important: Shared folders will share all the folders and files that are inside that folder.


SHARE FILES:


Otherwise, you can just share some documents that are inside that folder.


For example, I am going to share some file in the Training documents folder. Here I have some documents in excel, pdf, and word. When I click on the 3 dots next to one of the files and select 'Share' I can select individual users or a group. I am going to select a few users from my drop-down menu and click 'Share'. Now, this file has been shared with all the users I selected.


As mentioned before, if I want to quickly share with all users that have the profile rights to view the Documents Module, I can just click the 'Share all' button. Likewise, if I want to quickly not share the document with all users, I can click the 'Unshare all' button.


Here you see 'Inherited Users'. Remember when you share a folder, all the users that you shared with will have access to all the folders and files that are inside that folder. Inherited users are listed below.


Please watch more in-depth tutorials to learn more about the Documents module.

© 2014-2021 Private-Radar

  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram