top of page

Category: 

Schedule

Private and Public Bookings

In this tutorial, you will learn all about Private and Public bookings. These are two different options available when creating bookings in the Schedule Module. 


Let's have a look.


ROLES AND PRIVILEGES TO CREATE PRIVATE/PUBLIC BOOKINGS: (0:16)


Before we start, it is important to take a look at the Roles and Privileges for the Schedule Module. The role and privileges that have been assigned to a user will determine which users can view private bookings and/or publish private bookings. To configure these privileges for the Schedule Module, please follow these steps:


1. Go to the Users Module.


2. Click on the Roles and Privileges button.


3. Select a role from the drop-down menu on the top of the window, or add a new one by clicking on the “+ Add” sign, and select the Schedule tab from the menu on the top. 


4. Here you can select “View Private Bookings” and “Publish Private Bookings".


Now, let me show you where this is relevant in the Schedule Module. Here you can create a new booking and you have the option to select “Private” or “Public” on the top left-hand corner of the pop-up window. 


So now that you know how to set up the privileges and where to find the option to set a booking to Private or Public, let me explain what a private booking is.


PRIVATE BOOKINGS: (1:19)


What is a "Private Booking"?


A Private Booking is displayed on the schedule with a small lock on the top right-hand corner of the booking and is only visible to users with the Roles and Privileges to view private bookings. When you create, edit, or delete a private booking the system does not send a notification to the crew and the booking does not appear on their schedule unless of course they have the privileges previously mentioned. The system will not ask you to confirm any modifications on a private booking. 


For example, imagine I want the scheduler to be able to view, create, edit, and delete private bookings but I want to keep them private or let's say, hidden, from students; this will allow the scheduler to create a schedule and modify it, without the system sending any notifications.


Let me show you.  


I am going to create a private booking, here in the top left-hand corner of the page you can see I can set the booking to private. I am going to select Silvia Bello as the student. After I save it, the booking appears on the schedule with a little lock on the top-right hand corner. Silvia did not receive a notification. When I sign in as Silvia I can't see the booking on the schedule nor on my personal agenda. 


You can edit a private booking or just drag and drop directly on the schedule to change the time, aircraft, or classroom. A private booking enables you to do this even several days or weeks in advance so you can easily create, let's say, a "private" schedule. You can see I created a private booking. If I edit or cancel I do not have to confirm. Let me show you, I'm going to drag and drop the booking to change the time. It's as easy as that and I don't have to confirm any changes. 


Now let me explain what a public booking is...


PUBLIC BOOKINGS: (3:16)


What is a "Public Booking"?


A Public Booking is visible to users with the right to view the schedule. When you create, edit, or delete a public booking the system sends a notification to the crew and the booking also appears on their agenda. The system will ask you to confirm any modifications. 


I am going to create a public booking, here in the top left-hand corner of the page you can see it's set to public. I am going to select Julie Apton as the student, and Frank Cross as the instructor. After I save it, the booking appears on the schedule. Julie and Frank just received a notification. When I sign in as Julie I can see the booking on the schedule and on my personal agenda. Frank can also see the booking. 


PUBLISH A PRIVATE BOOKING: (4:06)


If you decide to create a private booking, later you can publish the booking. 


So now you must be wondering how you can publish a booking or a full schedule. Let's have a look. 


You can publish individual bookings, just click on the booking directly on the schedule, then select publish booking, the small globe icon. You can also click on the private booking, select edit, and change it from private to public in the top left-hand corner of the edit booking window.


Alternatively, you can publish all the bookings in the range of the displayed schedule, such as day, 1-4 weeks, or a month. Just adjust your view range on the top left of the schedule, then click on the small globe icon on the top right-hand corner. You will be asked to confirm. You can select "Publish flight(s)" and/or "Publish ground lesson(s)". For example, I am going to select a week. Click on the publish button in the top right-hand corner. Now, I am prompted with a message that says "You are going to publish one week" and I can select flights and/or ground lessons and click save.


When you publish a private booking, the small lock on the booking will disappear and the student and instructor will receive an email notification and the booking will now appear on their agenda. 


REMEMBER: For Public Bookings, users will receive notifications of their daily schedule each morning and users will be notified of any modifications. 


ROLES AND PRIVILEGES TO VIEW THE SCHEDULE: (5:46)


As we said before, public bookings are visible on the schedule for users who have the Roles and Privileges to view the schedule.


Each user who wants to access Private-Radar must have a role defined. Let me show you an example, I created a role called "Student". Now let's jump down to Schedule. 


I am going to allow this role to "View schedule". I will not allow them to "View private schedule". I am going to check off "View aircraft schedule". The rest of the options I am not going to allow.


To make sure you understand how to set up which information users can or cannot have access to, please watch the tutorial, How to Manage the Roles and Privileges for the Schedule Module.


SCHEDULE SETTINGS: (6:34)


You can create private bookings by default.


Expand the menu on the top left-hand corner of the page. Go to Settings, select “Schedule” from the menu on the left. Go to Parameters by default and select "Create private bookings by default".


If this option is selected, a new booking will be automatically set to Private in the top left-hand corner each time you add a new booking. If you do not select "Create private bookings by default", a new booking will be automatically set to Public in the top left-hand corner each time you add a new booking. 


NOTIFICATION SETTINGS: (7:16)


Users will also have to configure their Settings to receive notifications when they have been included in a booking, and this booking has been set as public.


For example, I am going to sign in as Julie Apton, I will go to Settings, and under notifications, check off "Receive an e-mail when your schedule is published". This way, Julie will receive a notification in her email every time a public booking is created with her as part of the crew, or a private booking has changed to public, or a public booking has been edited or canceled.


REMEMBER: The system doesn't send a notification to the crew for a private booking. The system only sends a notification to the crew for a public booking.


Please watch more in-depth tutorials about the Schedule Module to learn more!

bottom of page