Roles and Privileges
How to Manage the Roles and Privileges for the Documents Module
In this tutorial, I will show you how to configure the Roles and Privileges for the Documents Module.
The Documents Module allows you to easily add and share folders and files with other users. Sharing files and folders allows you to decide what files and folders are visible.
MANAGE ROLES AND PRIVILEGES: (0:23)
You can clearly define what each role can do within the Documents Module. Let me show you how to set this up:
1. First, log in to your account.
2. Go to the Users Module.
3. Click on the Roles button on the top right-hand corner of the page.
4. Select a role from the drop-down list.
5. Go to the Documents tab.
6. Here you can select the criteria.
Check off the box “View the Documents Module”. Users will only be able to view files and folders that have been specifically shared with them, a group they are a member of, or everyone.
You can allow users with the selected role to add files and folders.
You can allow users with the selected role to edit folders.
You can allow users with the selected role to share files and folders.
NOTE: Keep in mind, the other users they can share files and folders with will depend on the Roles and Privileges that have been defined for the Users Module. In the Roles and Privileges, Users Module tab, under the section Bases and Users Lists, verify the configuration of the selected role. For example, if "View all users" is selected under Users Lists, they will be able to share files and folders with all other users.
You can allow users with the selected role to delete files and folders.
MANAGE PRIVILEGES FOR STUDENT ROLE: (1:54)
Let me give you an example of how to configure the privileges for a student role:
I will allow the role Student to view the Documents Module, they will only be allowed to view files and folders that are shared with them.
I will not allow the role Student to add files and folders, edit folders, share files and folders, or delete files and folders. I will leave these boxes unchecked.
STUDENT’S VIEW: (2:24)
Let's have a look from the student's perspective.
MANAGE PRIVILEGES FOR INSTRUCTOR ROLE: (2:33)
Now let me show you how I would configure the privileges for the role Instructor:
I am going to check all the boxes so they can add files and folders, edit folders, share files and folders, and/or delete files and folders.
If an instructor has a restricted view of the user list, for example, to view a specific group, then he will only be able to share files and folders with the users of that group.
For more information about the Documents Module, please watch the other tutorials.